Kümpfel, Tania

Prof. Dr. Tania Kümpfel is a senior physician at the Institute of Clinical Neuroimmunology at LMU Munich’s Großhadern Hospital. She is secretary of the KKNMS board and also represents diseases from the neuromyelitis optica spectrum and MOG antibody-associated diseases on the board.

Since 2005: Senior physician at the Institute for Clinical Neuroimmunology, Großhadern Hospital, LMU Munich

2001-2003: Assistant at the Institute for Clinical Neuroimmunology and in the Neurological Clinic, Großhadern Hospital LMU-Munich and scientific work at the Max Planck Institute for Neurobiology Dept. Neuroimmunology (Martinsried)

1996-2000: Worked as a research assistant and doctor at the Max Planck Institute of Psychiatry, Munich in neurology and psychiatry

1994-1995: Internship in Neurology, Großhadern Hospital, LMU Munich

2010: Habilitation Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich

2003: Recognized as a specialist in neurology by the Bavarian Medical Association

1996: Licensed to practice human medicine

1993-1995: Doctorate in Neurology, Großhadern Hospital, LMU Munich

1987-1993: Medical studies at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich

  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Neuromyelitis optica spectrum diseases
  • MOG antibody-associated diseases
  • Antibody-mediated autoimmune inflammatory CNS diseases
  • Autoinflammatory syndromes with CNS involvement
  • Membership of the German Society of Neurology (DGN)
  • Member of the medical advisory board of the German Multiple Sclerosis Society (DMSG)
  • Active participant and coordinator of the Neuromyelitis Optica Study Group (NEMOS)
  • Active participation and member of the German network for research into autoimmune encephalitis (GENERATE – GErman NEtwork for REsearch on AuToimmune Encephalitis)
  • Participation in various national and international multi-center clinical studies as investigator and co-investigator in the field of multiple sclerosis and other inflammatory CNS diseases

Felgenhauer Prize, DGN (2014)
Habilitation scholarship from the LMU Munich as part of the University and Science Program (HWP) (2006)